Skip main navigation
You are at: Home>Certification>Information Technologies (ICT) Certification>SPICE Software Engineering Maturity Model
Model of Maturity of Software Engineering ISO/IEC 33000-SPICE
ISO/IEC 15504-SPICE Software Engineering Maturity Model

Model of Maturity of Software Engineering ISO/IEC 33000-SPICE

Model of Maturity of Software Engineering ISO/IEC 33000-SPICE


​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Better quality software development processes

Software quality is becoming more important to organisations due to its impact on final costs and its ability to act as an element that differentiates businesses from their competition. The Software Engineering Maturity Model Certification is an effective tool that helps improve the quality of software development in all types of organisations.

The certification scheme is based on a software life cycle processes model, in accordance with the ISO/IEC 12207 Standard and of the method for assessing the quality and maturity thereof, ISO/IEC 33000, part 2 and 7.

The model includes assessment and improvement by maturity levels, in other words, different states in which an organisation may find itself, based on the quality of its processes. These maturity levels range from the most basic level, zero, to the most mature, level 2. Each of the levels has a set of associated processes that are defined in Standard ISO/IEC12207and are specific for developing the software. The software factories and development departments will gradually implement the processes of each level over time in order to achieve an assessment of their software factory by maturity level, which AENOR will certify year after year.

This certification is a useful tool aimed at software factories and development departments in all types of organisations.

The model is aligned and easily integrated with Information Security Management Systems UNE-ISO/IEC 27001 and with UNE-ISO/IEC 20000. Furthermore, software engineering processes can be certified as Software Product - ISO 25000​.


Once the audit process has been successfully completed, the organisation will obtain:

  • The AENOR Certificate for the Software Engineering Maturity Model.
  • The licence to use the Software Maturity mark of the corresponding level.
  • The IQNet Certificate, passport for international access of its certification. With it, its AENOR certificate will be recognised by leading certification entities all over the world.
  • A licence to use the IQNet mark.
AENOR Mark for Software Maturity ISO/IEC 15504

AENOR Mark Software Maturity
ISO/IEC 33000
(Each maturity level has a mark; the one shown corresponds to level 5)


This model was first applied in 2009 in the assessment of 16 SMEs. These software factories are companies that develop software for different sectors. AENOR is the entity with the most Software Life Cycle certificates - ISO/IEC 33000, among other organisations of note are SIEMENS RAIL AUTOMATION, FICOSA, BITWARE, XERIDIA, BURO DE CREDITO (Mexico) and TGT Argentina (Argentina).​