Skip main navigation
You are at: Home>Certification>CSR Corporate Social Responsibility Certification>Maintained ICT accessibility
Website accessibility certification

Website accessibility certification

Website accessibility certification

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Internet for everyone: a global challenge, a legal demand, a commitment by everyone

Accessibility allows access to the website and its contents regardless of the type of hardware, software, network infrastructure, language, geographical location and skills of the users. It covers the majority of disabilities that people can have (physical, visual, auditory and cognitive), and also the needs of the elderly. Thus, it is a basic element for equal opportunities and to avoid discrimination.

Developing an accessible website has other additional benefits, such as making it more user-friendly and improving positioning in search engines, the reuse of content and interoperability, reducing the server load and the band width required, etc.

The AENOR N Mark for ICT Accessibility is a guarantee for owners and administrators of websites and their users and customers, and also public administrations to ensure that their webpages are accessible and stay that way. It provides additional assurance in developments and web service providers.

Some of its characteristics are:

  • It allows the certification of AA and AAA accessibility levels, in compliance with the regulations and reference standards (UNE-EN 301549 Accessibility requirements for ICT products and services. The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) of the Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI).
  • It reflects compliance with the accessibility level required by legislation (AA level).
  • It is applicable to any type of content, particularly to Web content which is accessed via user applications.
  • The initial certification includes the implementation of a technical assessment of website accessibility, which identifies non-compliance. The review of the plan of action to correct any problems identified and the subsequent checking of corrections made is also included.
  • In addition, for the initial certification, the management systems or methodology for maintaining accessibility on the website will be reviewed. With the compliance of these activities, the AENOR N certificate of accessibility to ICT websites is awarded, and the right of use of the AENOR accessibility mark.
  • It includes the implementation of six-monthly verifications of the level of compliance with website accessibility requirements and the review of any corrections made. It also includes carrying out annual audits of the maintenance methodology or accessibility management system in accordance with the requirements established by AENOR in the Regulation RP A90.01.
  • In this certification, the commitment, knowledge and expertise of AENOR, Fundación CTIC, and TECNALIA, in relation to website accessibility are structured and organised.

This certification is aimed at owners and/or managers of website maintenance, and it grants the right to identify the website using the AENOR N Mark for accessibility.

Although accessibility standards and standards are applicable to anyone, Spanish legislation requires compliance by multiple organisations. The main organisations required are:

  • Public Administrations.
  • Entities and companies that manage public services, especially those of an educational or healthcare nature, and community services.
  • Any website that has public financing.
  • Businesses that provide electronic communication services, financial services, water, gas or electricity supply, travel agencies, passenger transport, retail trade activities.
  • Teletraining platforms for the acquisition of certificates of professionalism.
  • Support pages or channels for online social networks.
  • Applications for mobile devices of public sector organisations. 

The auditing of the accessibility management system may be in parallel with auditing. ISO ​​9001.

  • AENOR ICT Accessibility Certificate.
  • The license for use of the AENOR Mark for ICT Accessibility, by which the certified website is identified.
AENOR Mark for ICT Accessibility

AENOR Mark for ICT Accessibility​

AENOR has issued many website accessibility certificates, including the certification of the websites of Public Administrations and public entities, financial institutions, web developers, multinationals, etc.