Skip main navigation
You are at: Home>Certification>Transport and logistics>Railway sector IRIS
Quality Management Systems in the IRIS Rev03 Railway Sector based on ISO TS 22163
Certification of Management Systems for the IRIS Railway Sector

Quality Management Systems in the IRIS Rev03 Railway Sector based on ISO TS 22163

Improving the quality and reliability of railway products

In 2005 and created at the initiative of UNIFE, with the support of the main manufacturers and integrators of systems, the IRIS Standard was elaborated with the main objective of improving the quality of the supply chain, the prevention of defects and their reduction, by implementing an ongoing assessment system that enables the improvement achieved to be quantified through a measurement process based on efficiency levels.

The current IRS rev03 certification system is based on the standard ISO/TS 22163:2017 and the IRIS 2017 certification regulations.

Benefits for your company:

  • Increase in the quality and reliability of railway products
  • Measurement of continuous improvement.
  • Reduction in the number of audits.

Benefits for your clients:

  • Enhanced prestige and image of the organisation.
  • Worldwide recognition by being listed in a database as a provider of railway products/services.

Benefits related to society:

  • Railway operators will be able to obtain more reliable products and guarantees that increase the quality for the end user.

The IRIS certification based on the general standard ISO TS 22163 is applicable to organisations of any size that design, manufacture or maintain railway products.

The structure of the standard ISO TS 22163 is based on the standard UNE-EN-ISO 9001:2015​ and a joint audit of both standards is necessary. As the standard ISO TS 22163 is based on ISO 9001:2015, it can be easily integrated with any process management system.

Once the audit process has been successfully completed, if the implemented system meets the requirements of the IRIS standard, the organisation will obtain:

  • The IRIS Certificate.
  • The AENOR Certificate of Quality Management Systems.
  • A licence to use AENOR's Quality Management System Mark.
  • The IQNet Certificate is a passport that offers international access to its ISO certification 9001. With the IQNet Certificate, your AENOR certificate will be recognised by leading international certification authorities.
  • A licence to use the IQNet mark.

Furthermore, organisations with management systems certified by AENOR have free access to the AENORnet and a subscription to the AENOR monthly magazine.




IQNet Mark

IQNet Mark


AENOR has been accredited by IRIS for IRIS certification since 2007.

In 2009, the first IRIS certificate was issued to GRUPO PRYSMIAN ESPAÑA, and AENOR is currently a leader in IRIS certification in Spain.
  • The documentation to download is available at IRIS Portal​​

Would you like more information?

IRIS Certification

​​​​​​Finger pointing at a digital screen