Skip main navigation
You are at: Home>Certification>CSR Corporate Social Responsibility Certification>Verified website accessibility
Specific Universal Accessibility Certification
Compliance of accessible websites and/or web contents

Specific Universal Accessibility Certification

Specific Universal Accessibility Certification

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Internet for everyone: a global challenge, a legal demand, a commitment by everyone

Accessibility allows access to the website and its contents regardless of the type of hardware, software, network infrastructure, language, geographical location and skills of the users. It covers the majority of disabilities that people can have (physical, visual, auditory and cognitive), and also the needs of the elderly. Thus, it is a basic element for equal opportunities and to avoid discrimination.

Developing an accessible website has other additional benefits, such as making it more user-friendly and improving positioning in search engines, the reuse of content and interoperability, reducing the server load and the band width required, etc.

The certificate of conformity for website accessibility is aimed at organisations that want to guarantee the accessibility of a web development, web content or website, for creators, contractors and users. This is a one-off certification that does not incorporate follow-up requirements in terms of web accessibility.

Some of its characteristics are:

  • It allows the certification of AA and AAA accessibility levels, for the standard Standard UNE 139803 Web content accessibility requirements , and therefore also for the Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG), and UNE-EN301549 V1.1.1: 2014Requirements for the accessibility of ICT products and services applicable to public procurement in Europe.
  • It reflects the fulfilment of the level of accessibility required by law for companies, organisations and public administrations, at the time of granting the certificate. As a result, it does not include requirements indicating periodic monitoring of the website and/or certified website content.
  • It is intended to demonstrate compliance with the standard in client / supplier relations.
  • It applies to any type of content, published or to be published, particularly in Website content accessed via user applications. For example it can apply to a complete website, or to parts or sections of a website, as well as to platforms and any type of content that is going be published.
  • It includes the implementation of a technical accessibility test, the review of the plan of action to correct any problems identified and the checking of corrections made.
  • It structures and combines the commitment, knowledge and expertise of AENOR, Fundación CTIC, and Tecnalia, in relation to website accessibility.

This certification is aimed at web content developers and owners and/or the managers that hire them, and consists in a certificate that accredits a suitable level of accessibility declared on the date the certificate is issued.

The UNE standard 139803 has a general scope and is applicable to any website, however, Spanish legislation establishes compliance requirements for the following organisations:

  • Public Administrations.
  • Entities and companies that manage public services, especially those of an educational or healthcare nature, and community services.
  • Any website that has public financing.
  • Businesses that provide electronic communication services, financial services, water, gas or electricity supply, travel agencies, passenger transport, retail trade activities.
  • Teletraining platforms for the acquisition of certificates of professionalism.
  • Support pages or channels for online social networks.
  • Applications for mobile devices of public sector organisations.

The AENOR certificate of conformity for website accessibility

No authorisation to use any logos is granted.

AENOR launched the certification in 2007, and since then has certified more than 15 websites, including complete web portals, templates for website development, and pdf and multimedia documents included on websites.