Skip main navigation
You are at: Home>Certification>Food sector - Certifications>Food safety 22000
ISO 22000 Food Safety Standard

ISO 22000 Food Safety Standard

ISO 22000 Food Safety Standard

Food safety, everyone's responsibility 

The Standard UNE-EN ISO 22000: 2018 specifies the requirements that must be met by a management system to ensure food safety throughout the food chain from the point of sale to end consumption.

The four main lines of the new 2018 version are the following:

  • Adaptation of the High-Level structure which is shared by the ISO management standards (ISO 9001, ISO 14001, ISO 45001...) to facilitate integration with other management systems. 
  • Risk-based approach across two levels: risk management of the organisation (finances, productivity, concerned parties, etc.) and an approach based upon the operational system HACCP (Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points)
  • Modification and clarification of requirements (communication, management of emergencies, selection of control measures, Critical Control Points plan CCP and of PPR Prerequisites Programmes or validation of control measures).
  • PDCA cycle of continuous improvement. Two cycles PDCA which work together, one which covers the management system and the other covering the principles of HACCP.


  • Improve food safety.
  • Promote cooperation between all the parties involved in the food chain, national governments and multi-national organisations.
  • Ensure consumer protection and strengthen consumer confidence.
  • Establish reference requirements as "key elements" for food safety management systems.
  • Improve cost performance throughout the food supply chain.


  • It facilitates compliance with current legislation.
  • Integrates the principles of HACCP in a system for managing the organisation thanks to its HLS (High Level Structure) based on risk management.
  • It is based on the PDCA (Plan, Do, Check, Act) cycle of constant improvement .
  • It provides organised, efficient communication with all interested parties.
  • It inspires confidence in consumers.
  • It improves documentation.​​​
  • More efficient and dynamic monitoring of food safety hazards.
  • Systematic management of prior requirements.
  • Time and cost savings by conducting the ISO 22000 together with other Food Safety schemes (FSSC, BRC, IFS).
  • In addition, the proper implementation of ISO 22000 and ISO ​ 9000 responds to the requirements of the private protocols BRC and IFS.

Together with this certification, AENOR makes is possible to also obtaining certificates in Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP) and/or GMP based on the Codex Alimentarius. Find out about how to obtain three certificates.

If you are also an exporter of agri-food products, you must know the Food Safety Modernization Act 2016 (FSMA), drawn up by the United States FDA, which seeks to improve food safety, particularly in foodstuffs imported from third countries. This law establishes the requirements for the export of agri-food products destined for the United States, while also facilitating companies' consolidation in the American market.

The ISO 22000 standard is aimed at any type of organisation in the food chain, regardless of its size and complexity, that is looking for comprehensive and coherent management of food safety, beyond the requirements established by law.

You organisation obtains the certificate and user licence of the AENOR Food Safety Management Systems Mark, in addition to the certification and user licence of the IQNet.

Furthermore, organisations with management systems certified by AENOR have a free subscription to the AENOR monthly magazine.

Due to its risk management-based structure, the ISO 22000 certification can be integrated with UNE-EN-ISO 9001 and any other food safety standards: FSSC, BRC, IFS​, etc.

AENOR mark of Food Safety UNE-EN ISO 22000

AENOR Food Safety mark
UNE-EN-ISO 22000


IQNet Mark

AENOR has been accredited by ENAC based on ISO Standard 22000 since 2008 (in the process of being accredited for the 2018 version).

AENOR mark of Food Safety UNE-EN ISO 22000

Learn about all the training available on ISO standard 22000

Training Courses